Home » Applications » Oracle Fusion Apps & E-Business Suite » Oracle Inventory - material description
Oracle Inventory - material description [message #316542] Fri, 25 April 2008 10:51 Go to next message
eleboeuf
I am very new to Oracle Inventory and would like to know if it possible to enter parametric descriptions of the materials, for example for a Ball-Valve:

Class= Valve
Type= Ball
--- Characteristics
Design Rating= 1500LB
Port= Recuced
Temp Rating = 100LB @100 DEG F
Connection= Flanged
etc ....

I would like if possible to use paramateric description instead/in addition of free text descriptions. Is this possible?
Do you know in which table(s) this information is held?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Cheers. Eric
Re: Oracle Inventory - material description [message #317103 is a reply to message #316542] Tue, 29 April 2008 09:28 Go to previous messageGo to next message
akil0576
Oracle Inventory Provides three flexfields structure 1 each for System Items , Category and Catalog . What is your exact requirement.
Re: Oracle Inventory - material description [message #317659 is a reply to message #317103] Fri, 02 May 2008 05:38 Go to previous messageGo to next message
eleboeuf
akil0576 wrote on Tue, 29 April 2008 16:28
Oracle Inventory Provides three flexfields structure 1 each for System Items , Category and Catalog . What is your exact requirement.

I had a look at the "Item Catalog" struxure and I think that I can do it in this ways:

MTL_SYSTEM_ITEM_B
INVENTORY_ITEM_ID=98765
ITEM_CATALOG_GROUP_ID=123

MTL_ITEM_CATALOG_GROUPS_B
DESCRIPTION= VALVE:BALL

Note:There does not seem to have the possibility to define categories (i.e VALVE) and Subcategories (i,e BALL), so I will have to concatenate the 2 fields to create a flat classification. In this case, I will have to create a category for VALVE:BALL, VALVE:BUTTERFLY, VALVE:GATE, because the charateristics for each type of VALVE has a different set of characterisitics.

MTL_DESCRIPTIVE_ELEMENTS