Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Calling Oracle reports
Calling Oracle reports [message #131241] Thu, 04 August 2005 22:57 Go to next message
m_ashtiani
Hi,
I am new to 10g developer,

Migrating from 6i to 10g.
installed developer suite 10g and configured oc4j for the developer.
got the forms running under browser however reports are problem.

Problem 1:
i used an existing 6i report and re-compiled it. (no migration program under reports). I noticed that it has very little code under web-view, when i run it, report blanks out and sort of hange for a while. at the end it does not run.

created a new report from scratch and managed to run it from reports-developer. it gave me a paperview

Problem2:
Calling a report from form failes. i used report object set to cache, runtime/batch and html output. basically run_report_object returns null after hanging for a while. I called both the RDF and jsp report files. note that i tested report serverlet and it works fine (http:// .../reports/...)

Registery is report_path is setup to my working directory and did not configure anything else for report

i may have miss spelled keywords here as i am not actually looking at the parameters. anyhow I am stuck, help is appreciated
Re: Calling Oracle reports [message #131245 is a reply to message #131241] Thu, 04 August 2005 23:39 Go to previous messageGo to next message
djmartin
Account Moderator
Use web.show_document instead of run_report_object. Then if the report server is not running, it will be started for you. Run_report_object only works if the report server is already running.

Search this format for 'show_document' there should be some examples. For example, http://www.orafaq.com/forum/m/128476/67467/?srch=show_document#msg_128476

David
Re: Calling Oracle reports [message #131270 is a reply to message #131241] Fri, 05 August 2005 01:25 Go to previous messageGo to next message
m_ashtiani
Thank you for your help it is now running with your code,
however i would add these